The State of California instituted a law, “Three Feet for Safety Act,” on September 16, 2014 requiring drivers to give bicyclists a 3 foot buffer zone while passing them or the motorists will receive a $35 fee. In addition, if there is not enough room for the driver to move over 3 feet, the driver must slow down to a “reasonable and prudent” speed and wait for it to be safe for them to pass the cyclist.
California is the 24th state to institute a 3-foot passing law. The law, however, is not well known among motorists. New signs were created so that drivers will know the law.
In addition, members of the California Bicycle Coalition have been using the hashtags #IGive3Ft or #GiveMe3 on their social media sites and bumper stickers for cars that say “I Give 3 Feet.” The goal of these promotions is to create awareness of bicycle safety among residents of the state of California. It is a really great social media campaign for promoting bicycle safety.
What do you think about this?